…But how do I write my own curriculum to teach my child?

BismiAllah, thanks for the question!! this is a really good question, especially for those of us who do not buy curriculum’s. I remember spending so many months worrying if I was doing everything correctly, too much or too little.

It’s good to see you’re concerned with ensuring the best education for your child.
Allah swt says in the Qu’ran: {And that man can have nothing but what he strives for.} (An-Najm 53:39)

What new thing did YOU learn today? We must remember to Teach our children everyday. Answer their questions, read a book, Learn Islam together! When you teach a topic you end up learning more about it than you thought you knew in the beginning! When you start using life, books, examples, websites, the Quran, language, and flashcards to teach your child(ren)you’ll be surprised at how much more you will learn again as well.♥~Holly Garza

There are various web sites that were very helpful to me so I will list them as well.

Please make sure that you check with your State guidelines and do it ‘legally’. Here in Illinois it is very easy to do. Other States make it so hard you would think it’s illegal! Do not fear!! We are our child’s first Teacher and if we so choose can continue to be their Teacher for years.

The Worldbook web site not only sells GREAT books but has a FREE list of curriculum subjects that need to be taught by grade level. It’s an excellent site and very easy to follow. I basically use that along with the State guidelines to make my curriculum for my daughter. What I do is use those guidelines, the books I have, life experiences, the library, books I purchase, ‘field trips, play dates; and even web sites online to make sure I meet all the guidelines.
The link for those grade levels is here
www.worldbook.com/typical-course-of-study.html

Here are some wonderful tips and very useful well written example and ideas of what you can do as well. ENJOY!!

That web site is here~> http://www.essortment.com/write-own-homeschool-curriculum-second-grade-40038.html

Here is what I have written in the past on this subject…

    

                                                                 

    Asalaamu Alaikum I use so many things on any given week. A lot of these are online links that I have posted here, however I can’t reiterate this enough…

As with everything first make dua, find out what the legal requirements are, you can find those here and what resources you will need.

Write down EVERYTHING! You can either buy a schedule or use the computer to make one or use a notebook/day planner and write a simple schedule. It’s as easy as writing

  • eat at 8
  • read at 8: 30
  • Quran at 9
  • Math at 10
  • break at 10:30, and so on and so forth…

As a side note, I do not do all of these everyday. Some days we do Islam + Reading and arts and crafts. The next day we will do Science + writing and life skills. On another day we might do life skills + Islam and Math. The next time we can do Grammar, Phonics and Social studies. Another time salat, spelling, surah memorizing and Geography. This is just an example for you.

The trick is not to overwhelm yourself or the child.

REMEMBER The computer and the tv are SOMETIMES items!

We use the internet at most 2 hours for homeschooling no more. We do physical activity-stretches, walks, exercise, we use the park, McDonald’s Playland or a playdate or friend visits for the physical development aspect. We also do a lot of reading, writing and looking through magazines as well. We have manipulatives (play dough, paint, glitter (A lot of these items you can make or buy easily and cheaply) I usually alternate different sites every two weeks, these are almost all the ones I have used  and currently use. They are listed here on this site or HERE

One of my favorite web sites, which I just found a few months ago is- time4learning. Here is the link for that web site. Now, this web site is a paid site, meaning you pay to use it. I usually try to post really good free and or cheap sites or links, however this is an excellent resource which is WELL WORTH the money.

This is the list I printed and check off on it to make sure I am teaching her everything she has to know legally and for her grade level.

We also have a word dictionary where she writes the words she knows how to spell. A word wall, as well as make random arts and crafts assignments made of words she is learning to write, spell and read. , spell and read, such as (see pictures included in link below)

    Great for early reading/site words ( I wish I found this last year!)

We also have a word dictionary where she writes the words she knows how to spell. A word wall, as well as make random arts and crafts assignments made of words she is learning to write, spell and read, such as (see picture below) ((This was when she was 5 you of course would change the assignment to fit your childs age/grade/developmental level))

             

                             

 What she did here is traced, colored, and cut out her hands. Then she placed them on the construction paper, attached a fuzzy twist tie and hung it up after writing the word Hand on the hand and the word Hands on the “frame”.

All about my body

Science Time =)

Practice Telling Time  (she just learned to tell time this second week of October and she loves it!)

Sesame Street Numbers

Count us in Math!!

A Blog on Homeschooling I found with MATH GAMES

                                                 

To teach Islamic studies I use different methods. I use examples, the Qur’an, youtube videos, and a vast array of online sites, different books. and curriculum’s. I do it this way since no one single curriculum really fit our style or life. Here are some of the things I use. There are many different books, and things I like to use, however it is important to remember not to overdo it in our excitement. When I do I pick a lesson out of a book, I back it up with Quran and Hadeeth. Here are the things I use in my homeschool.

A great book for Islamic principles and manners is THIS ONE! <~ A personal Favorite of mine! Not too complicated, not to simple to where it is boring! I honestly think if I had the funds I would buy a few for every Masjid and let some of these Muslims that are grown read it too so they can learn! beautiful hadeeth, ayah, illustrations and explanations. The Author did an excellent job on this book!

Another favorite of mine is The Great Miracle The story of Jesus (Isa in the Quran)

                                                                                              

This book coupled with the ayat in the Qur’an to go with it. The book on SALAT and of course leading by example. Islamic Studies Grade 1 workbook.

                                                       

                                 

This is a special treat~ play time for her

Islamic games for children (another treat or free time)

Learning Spanish! =)

We do this by speaking in Spanish and reading bilingual books

                                                        

More Spanish

Sprout online =) more play/learning time

We have a Weather chart with cloudy, sunny, fog, rainy, and cloudy on our wall, as well as when we go outside. Sometimes we use a site like this one

The Qur’an Online FREE (many Transliteration styles and ways to learn!)

There is always time for Arts and Crafts and while I love to teach and make sure she is meeting all the learning requirements, I also allow my daughter to enjoy her arts and crafts time about 95 % of the time she asks to. homeschooling is not about mimicking a school, it’s about teaching a child to love learning and teaching them how to think, not at what time to think or how to think. 

                              

All about changes due to pressure and Mountains, canyons, and river formation

Introductory Arabic Words

ALL about Space!

As always, parenting, cooking, reading, daily life, play/paint time & or outdoor trips/playtime are excellent opportunities.

                                      

                               

Join me in the forums on Homeschoolingmuslimahmommies.webs.com for more feedback from me and or other parents in their homeschooling journey!!

~ Holly Garza♥

2 thoughts on “…But how do I write my own curriculum to teach my child?

    • Ameen!!! Walaikom asalaam JazakAllah Khayer for the feedback and taking the time to read and look around!!

      I try to always give credit to whom it’s due. I can’t say that I came up with all these wonderful tips, supplies, sites or ideas but I CAN definetly share them to try and help someone else benefit InshaAllah.

Asalaamu Alaikum (Peace be upon you) your thoughts? Your comment, questions?? Please share

